2 Weeks to go with 2 Misbehaving Calves

rotterdam

Hi I’m back! I’m alive! It’s been a roller coaster last month of training.  Here’s the Coles Notes version:

About a month ago (shortly after my last blog post), I was running home from the Monday hill work out and my right calf (formerly known as the “good” one) started bothering me.

Cue panic attack.

To make a long story short, turns out I had a very minor calf strain in my soleus. This can happen from 1) hills and 2) overuse. Makes sense since my running group had been ramping up the hills week by week  (the week before we ran 10km worth of hills that nearly killed me!). I had also been ramping up my weekly mileage (I hit 120km for the first time ever (woohoo!)) – so needlesss to say I wasn’t super surprised about the pain but I was SUPER bummed.

I took four days off which I know doesn’t seem like a lot, but I’ve been running six days a week since I came back from my calf injury last May, so taking four off in a row was terrifying (I didn’t want to lose my fitness). But that break did wonders. I was actually able to finish a 33km run by Sunday of the same week with absolute zero pain. I was so giddy with happiness.

Then Monday came around and I only lasted an hour at work before I had to go home. I was hit HARD by some kind of flu. I haven’t had to take a sick day from work in well over a year and ended up having to take nearly the entire week off work. Every morning I tried to get up and shower and was so dizzy, congested and sore. I don’t think I’ve ever been so sick.

Cue my second panic attack in two weeks.

Needless to say I wasn’t able to really walk straight let alone run that week. But by the end of the weekend I was feeling better and got two runs in.

Following my comeback from the dead, I was back running full time but by the end of the next week BOTH my calves were tender. I was so confused since I had given them nearly two weeks off. I saw my physio who is also my friend and teammate and she said my calves were just tight and gave me sh*t for not stretching more.

Let me tell you, since that visit, I have stretched, rolled and heated more in the last two weeks than the last six months combined. I’m stretching at my desk at work, doing calf raises every time I brush my teeth and have a nightly date with my heating pad.

COME ON CALVES.

I am happy to report it’s been two full weeks since my calves have felt tender or sore. Now I’m tapering which will give them additional rest.

I’m not above giving them daily pep talks right now. Just give me two weeks and a solid 42.2km run and you will have all the downtime you want, calves!

So how do I feel about Rotterdam? Nervous. Extremely nervous.

My goal is to finish the marathon without injury. Of course Competitive Sarah wants to set a PB, but being realistic with the last month of training (or lack thereof) in mind, I will just be happy to cross the finish line (0k and, in a decent time).

Please wish my calves luck!

Back to food. Random fact – I love cooked apples. I am not so much a pie person (because I am biased towards anything chocolate and pies usually don’t have chocolate in them). But I do love apple pie – mainly just eating the cooked apples inside.

Lately I have just been warming up apples in the microwave with a bit of cinnamon. That’s apple love.

I’ve been eating a lot of oatmeal lately – post workouts, for dinner (who doesn’t love breakfast-for-dinner?!) and oatmeal is my pre-race meal.

This Apple Pie Oatmeal is healthy, sweet, filling and easy to make. Enjoy!

oatmeal

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats (you can use regular oats if you prefer)
  • 1 chopped apple (you can remove the skin if you like, but I leave it on)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon cinnamon (depending how much you like it)
  • honey to taste (after cooking)
  1. Combine all ingredients, bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for approximately 20-25 minutes (until the oats are tender).
  2. Add the honey after cooking – it really brings out the apple pie taste!
Leave a Reply

