Hello World!

I’m finally starting a blog! I recently turned 30 and realized I’m not getting any younger. As the kids are saying these days – YOLO!

Not surprising my blog is about running and eating. Two things I am very passionate about and spend a lot of time doing. For those that know me, my personal motto is “I run to eat”. I also consider peanut butter it’s own food group.

Through Run Fast. Eat Lots. I hope to share with you my evolving journey of making my legs go fast and my tasty experiments in the kitchen.

First up – THE BOSTON MARATHON

Why not start with the most prestigious and well known marathon around the world.

I’m currently training to run my third Boston Marathon which is just under a month away. The last time I ran it was in 2013, the year of the bombing. It was and still remains a very surreal experience for me knowing “what if”. I had finished the marathon less than an hour earlier and watched the tragic event unfold on television in a restaurant not too far from where it happened. I have mixed emotions about going back but am happy to see how the city has united in the face of threat. Earlier this week the Mayor of Boston announced that April 15 will now be known as One Boston Day to honour the victims and survivors.

This training cycle has likely been the most challenging for me given the incredibly cold winter and my hatred for treadmills. I toughed it out for every run outside and am proud to say I didn’t succumb to the treadmill once this winter. That being said, for some runs I had to wear just about everything in my closet to keep from freezing.

Looking back at my training, from January to March, my group workouts consisted of Monday night hill repeats and Saturday morning tempo runs. Thursday is long run day (and eat the world day) and the other days are just easy runs. Group workouts have recently switched to speed work and intervals (which may be the death of me). Some days I would prefer to run back-to-back marathons than do intervals, but what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger right? I am a firm believer in that – especially as it relates to running. No matter how much pain I’m in – whether it’s doing endless km repeats or at the end of a race – I always remind myself that my legs will not fall off. That’s the million dollar secret.

I run six days a week with one complete rest day. I’ve run between 100-110kms in 7 out of the last 8 weeks with a half marathon race in between (meaning a taper week, but a new PB!). This past week I ran 110kms and will now slowly start to taper. Next week I’m down to 100kms! Woohoo. My legs have been feeling tired and heavy lately so I am welcoming this taper with open arms.

But you can’t run that much without eating A LOT. Lately my appetite has rivaled that of my 6’7 boyfriend. To celebrate my taper I plan on making some tasty treats. This weekend’s treat was “Skinny” Double Chocolate Pecan Muffins*.

muffins

Now I use the term “skinny” loosely because I double the amount of chocolate chips required. BUT you’ve got to feel good about eating a double chocolate pecan muffin knowing it has zucchini AND Greek yogurt in it. So I think it’s a wash.

Dry Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or if you’re me, 2/3 – 1 cup 🙂 )
1/2 cup pecans

Wet Ingredients
1 egg, lightly whisked
1/3 cup non-sweetened applesauce
1/2 cup non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt
1/4 cup skim milk
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup shredded zucchini (about 1 medium zucchini)

Instructions
1. Chop pecans and chocolate chips by hand or in a food processor until desired consistency.
2. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 12-16 muffin liners.
3. Whisk together dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Whisk together wet ingredients into a large bowl. Sift dry ingredients into wet ingredients and stir by hand, until just combined, no more than 10 seconds. They should be lumpy!
4. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake in pre-heated oven, 15-20 minutes.

Voila! The zucchini makes these muffins really moist and you can’t even taste it! It’s like magic.

*Recipe from http://www.carlsbadcravings.com/skinny-double-chocolate-zucchini-pecan-muffins/

 

 

Leave a Reply

